If first encounter in a Cave is a villain...

For to fix what's broke, and improve what ain't. Or something thereabouts.

Moderator: Moderators

giogio
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 1:51 am
Contact:

If first encounter in a Cave is a villain...

Postby giogio » Mon Jun 27, 2011 3:16 am

If first encounter in a Mouths of Darkness Cave is a villain (in my case it was Anna Conda), your "Patrol again at ..." link will lead to Astral Badlands. (I didn't notice what the actual text was)
Is this a bug or by design?

Harry Dresden
Posts: 1395
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:22 pm
Contact:

Re: If first encounter in a Cave is a villain...

Postby Harry Dresden » Mon Jun 27, 2011 7:04 am

Villains interrupt any travel between zones, so your "Patrol again at..." link will not update to where you wanted to go but remain at where you were.

xKiv
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 1:40 pm
Contact:

Re: If first encounter in a Cave is a villain...

Postby xKiv » Mon Jun 27, 2011 9:44 am

Except that you can get a static villain for the place you were intending to go to, and *still* be interrupted enough to patrol again at the place you were before you met the villain.

It's at least a bit incongruent (see previous paragraph), unintuitive (see people expecting it to work the other way until they are told otherwise) and inconvenient (I still want to go to the place I wanted to go to before a villain interrupted me ... why do I have to go through all the clicking to get to the zone again?).

Is there any actual reason behind it being that way, or is it just "that's how it organically ended up", "that's how it has always been" and "not worth doing anything about"?

User avatar
Ryme
Site Admin
Posts: 4288
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: If first encounter in a Cave is a villain...

Postby Ryme » Mon Jun 27, 2011 11:02 am

It is either:

a) an oversight I'll try to fix quickly
b) deeply problematic because of the nature of the caves, and really hard to fix.

Currently I couldn't tell you which.

User avatar
Cristiona
Posts: 4941
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 1:01 am
Location: the Conservatory with the lead pipe
Contact:

Re: If first encounter in a Cave is a villain...

Postby Cristiona » Mon Jun 27, 2011 7:48 pm

I thought that was fixed for most zones.
Image
The churches are empty / The priest has gone home / And we are left standing / Together alone
--October Project: "Dark Time"

User avatar
Ryme
Site Admin
Posts: 4288
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: If first encounter in a Cave is a villain...

Postby Ryme » Mon Jun 27, 2011 8:22 pm

It is. That's why those are the two options left.


Return to “Testing & Debugging”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest