Minor bugs

For to fix what's broke, and improve what ain't. Or something thereabouts.

Moderator: Moderators

Muhandes
Posts: 732
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Muhandes » Wed Dec 02, 2009 1:58 am

An extremely minor bug... If catalyzing ends on the same fight where black box produces an IOU there is a missing line break between the texts:

Figuring your catalysis project is over, you spin by your hideout and pick up the results.
You got an item: paladinum

Start catalyzing another piece.Your little black box beeps quietly, letting you know that it's full of data. You swing by the lab and let Dirk download everything. He puts a little tick in your IOU tally sheet, saying you've earned one favor from the group.
You got an item: crimebusters IOU

User avatar
Cristiona
Posts: 4780
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 1:01 am
Location: the Conservatory with the lead pipe
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Cristiona » Wed Dec 02, 2009 2:18 am

Fighting Club/New text interaction is still a little wonky:

You attack ... Your club strikes true on your opponent's chest, and you can almost see Jack's broken heart. Your opponent looks considerably weaker.brutally bashing, you bludgeon beautifully, bequeathing bruises and broken bones; blasting and beating for 688 +5 +10 bamage. Er, damage.
Image
The churches are empty / The priest has gone home / And we are left standing / Together alone
--October Project: "Dark Time"

Muhandes
Posts: 732
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Muhandes » Wed Dec 02, 2009 3:37 am

Harry Dresden wrote:Holiday wreath (regifted) is saying it's not yet implemented when I try to use it.

Probably still working on it, but wanted to report it just in case.


fruitcake (regifted) also has:

You're trying to use an item that probably hasn't been implemented yet. Really sorry about that.

Edit: corrected, feel free to remove post
Last edited by Muhandes on Fri Dec 04, 2009 4:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

Muhandes
Posts: 732
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Muhandes » Thu Dec 03, 2009 1:30 am

Another minor "bug". Usually damage is in bold. But when you use a fruitcake you get "...At least you found a use for it. 56 damage worth of use." without any bolding.

Edit: This was ninja corrected. Feel free to remove this post.
Last edited by Muhandes on Thu Feb 18, 2010 8:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Cristiona
Posts: 4780
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 1:01 am
Location: the Conservatory with the lead pipe
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Cristiona » Thu Dec 03, 2009 3:22 am

OJ mentioned this, and I've verified: the Sell Things interface in IE is borked.

Instead of listing items, it only shows the quantity, in alphabetical order in the menu thing.
Image
The churches are empty / The priest has gone home / And we are left standing / Together alone
--October Project: "Dark Time"

Harry Dresden
Posts: 1394
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Harry Dresden » Thu Dec 03, 2009 6:59 am

Working fine on IE6. (Yes, my company's software people are so lazy they haven't upgraded us for years.)

User avatar
Ryme
Site Admin
Posts: 4288
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Ryme » Thu Dec 03, 2009 11:29 pm

Sell page should be fixed now.

Muhandes
Posts: 732
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Muhandes » Sun Dec 06, 2009 8:29 am

ever since the new rest page was implemented, resting in the Dank and Rusty Maze does not kick you out.

Edit: addressed, please remove
Last edited by Muhandes on Mon Nov 01, 2010 9:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

Muhandes
Posts: 732
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Muhandes » Sun Dec 06, 2009 8:50 am

In the "Barge Lox" adventure, if you leave the password field empty and click "Enter the Password" you get: "You seem to be someplace you shouldn't be." Instead of the regular "You Have Posen Chorely".

(did I mention it was minor?)

Muhandes
Posts: 732
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Muhandes » Wed Dec 09, 2009 2:08 pm

There is an old bug regarding soul gazing, which I just verified. When an opponent is resistant to physical damage the message is "You sense that your opponent will not be susceptible to" without specifying what type of damage.

Edit: removed another issue which was fixed
Last edited by Muhandes on Wed Jan 13, 2010 7:01 am, edited 2 times in total.

Satan
Posts: 1853
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 6:29 pm
Location: Florida
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Satan » Wed Dec 09, 2009 2:22 pm

Lol, so lazy, Ryme >.>

Harry Dresden
Posts: 1394
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Harry Dresden » Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:40 pm

Might not be a bug (I'm still kicking myself for it) but if an *ouch item is put into Storage empty and then pulled out after rollover, it is still empty.

If not, let everyone learn from my mistake.

User avatar
AldenteVonTino
Posts: 461
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:49 am
Location: Florida, USA
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby AldenteVonTino » Fri Dec 11, 2009 10:12 pm

Not sure how serious this is, but every now and then the frame that holds the char info (name, HP, PP, etc) shows nothing but the script and not the information. Sometimes more than 2ce a night. It DOES reset once another link is clicked though, such as continued combat or returning to the area last patrolled or even to inventory or whatever.
Just thought I'd make this known, in case it's not.
8)
When you do the best you can it's called a try!
If you don't you need to ask yourself why?
Just give it a thought,
And failure is worth naught.
And then like an eagle you shall fly!
Image

User avatar
Ryme
Site Admin
Posts: 4288
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Ryme » Fri Dec 11, 2009 10:13 pm

It is intentional, so that people can display the stage that they want. If you want to use it, use it. If you want it kept as-is permanently on display, put it in the display.

User avatar
Ryme
Site Admin
Posts: 4288
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Ryme » Fri Dec 11, 2009 10:14 pm

AldenteVonTino wrote:Not sure how serious this is, but every now and then the frame that holds the char info (name, HP, PP, etc) shows nothing but the script and not the information.


Never seen this myself. Are you running any scripts or greasemonkey business?

User avatar
Corrupt Shadow
Posts: 1234
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:24 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Corrupt Shadow » Sat Dec 12, 2009 9:05 am

It's never done that for me.
Image
I've won the 100k DD bet so many times, I should have the title "Mr. Luck"

User avatar
AldenteVonTino
Posts: 461
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:49 am
Location: Florida, USA
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby AldenteVonTino » Sat Dec 12, 2009 11:51 am

Nope, have yet to dl GM or any scripts.
It's not EVERY time I log in, either. Seems intermittent.
:?:
When you do the best you can it's called a try!
If you don't you need to ask yourself why?
Just give it a thought,
And failure is worth naught.
And then like an eagle you shall fly!
Image

User avatar
Ryme
Site Admin
Posts: 4288
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Ryme » Sat Dec 12, 2009 4:26 pm

Doc Igor wrote:On the bug notes: it's minor, as it isn't actually using up time, but turn length (for me at least) is displaying as 4.25min even though it should (and does) only take 4min/turn
Obviously, if it were the other way around, I'd be far less inclined to consider it minor, but it was disturbing.


I think this is part of my "fix" today ... broke how the game estimates the turnlength ahead of time. Did not break how the fight script actually does the accounting.

User avatar
Ryme
Site Admin
Posts: 4288
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Ryme » Sat Dec 12, 2009 4:59 pm

Time display and accounting should be fixed.

Harry Dresden
Posts: 1394
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Harry Dresden » Sat Dec 12, 2009 5:16 pm

Since we're talking about time display. I have 4 min, 20 sec turns about 90% of the time. But the zones always show 4.33 minutes. Is that because it's displaying a fraction rather than the seconds after the minutes?

zillow
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 5:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby zillow » Sat Dec 12, 2009 6:42 pm

There was system message in chat a few hours ago when Ryme made the fix of sidekicks and it said you might need to change your sidekick to make them work correctly.
Image

Harry Dresden
Posts: 1394
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Harry Dresden » Sat Dec 12, 2009 7:18 pm

Why are turn lengths displayed in decimal form, though. Maybe it's easier to code, but it seems like it would be more confusing to anyone looking to see how long an adventure is going to take.

User avatar
Ryme
Site Admin
Posts: 4288
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Ryme » Sat Dec 12, 2009 8:00 pm

I just left turn lengths in their native format, and this is the first time in three years anyone has asked about it.

User avatar
Ryme
Site Admin
Posts: 4288
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Ryme » Sat Dec 12, 2009 8:02 pm

Doc Igor wrote:edit: unequipping my xent gear raised turn length to 4.5 min... changing sidekick from race car driver to something else didn't affect anything... but when I changed back to the race car driver and re-equipped the xent gear, turn length dropped to where it was supposed to be. Odd.


Unless you say otherwise, I'm going to assume that this is related to the other bug, and that changing away and back once was all that's required to make this right.

Harry Dresden
Posts: 1394
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Harry Dresden » Sat Dec 12, 2009 8:11 pm

Ryme wrote:I just left turn lengths in their native format, and this is the first time in three years anyone has asked about it.


That's because I'm picky. But not demanding! I did wait 2 years to mention it.

Satan
Posts: 1853
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 6:29 pm
Location: Florida
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Satan » Sat Dec 12, 2009 11:36 pm

It is slightly inconvenient to have to remember what odd decimals times 60 are. Sure, .33 is simple, but I always forget the others and have to multiply. I don't think anyone could complain if it was changed to seconds since the decimal part isn't useful except after multiplied by 60 to get the seconds, and it's one less step for anyone who's looking for the number of seconds. That said, it's not really /necessary/ to change it to seconds, either. Just a minor inconvenience without it.

zillow
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 5:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby zillow » Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:08 pm

I had my furnace of yeb equipped and in order to test something I unequipped the furnace and was fighting and the attack button still said 'Attack with your Furnace of Yeb'
Image

User avatar
Cristiona
Posts: 4780
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 1:01 am
Location: the Conservatory with the lead pipe
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Cristiona » Mon Dec 14, 2009 8:47 pm

Yes, for some reason, fighting without a weapon treats things as if you had whatever was last equipped. Not sure if you get the bonuses or not.

Might be fixable by making "unarmed" a class of weapon.
Image
The churches are empty / The priest has gone home / And we are left standing / Together alone
--October Project: "Dark Time"

User avatar
Cristiona
Posts: 4780
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 1:01 am
Location: the Conservatory with the lead pipe
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Cristiona » Sun Dec 20, 2009 3:47 am

On the Recyclonizer tab of the Hideout, there's no access to the storage area.
Image
The churches are empty / The priest has gone home / And we are left standing / Together alone
--October Project: "Dark Time"

Muhandes
Posts: 732
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Muhandes » Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:02 am

Fly Die0 wrote:If adventuring in "The Skies Above Downtown", catalysis and decryption results do not appear.
I assume that black box IOUs don't either.

Sorry, must be mistaken.


OK, I think I have isolated the problem. If both catalysis and decryption end on the same turn, the usual
images and footnotes do not appear. Currently only tested in "The Skies Above Downtown".

I reported a bug about catalysis and IOU ending on the same time resulting in awkward text, this might be related.

Satan
Posts: 1853
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 6:29 pm
Location: Florida
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Satan » Sun Dec 27, 2009 1:38 am

Having a negative total of elemental resistance puts your resistance at -X%, instead of 0. May not be a bug if you already calculate it so that negative resistance increases the damage done.

User avatar
Ryme
Site Admin
Posts: 4288
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Ryme » Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:43 am

I'll have to check that one, but I *think* that -20% fire resistance would indeed cause you to take 20% more damage.

Muhandes
Posts: 732
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Muhandes » Wed Dec 30, 2009 12:49 am

I think this was raised before, bone flute, spiral horn and summoning cube cannot be recyclonized.

User avatar
Ryme
Site Admin
Posts: 4288
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Ryme » Wed Dec 30, 2009 5:57 pm

Yeah, it's been discussed. I can't remember the rationale now, but I'm 100% sure there was a reason we decided that initially. I don't remember the reason now, but I know there was one.

Satan
Posts: 1853
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 6:29 pm
Location: Florida
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Satan » Wed Dec 30, 2009 6:24 pm

I'd think it's because you can summon them. But considering you can only summon 3 a day, I hardly think it's game-breaking. And summoning isn't the /only/ source.

Muhandes
Posts: 732
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: Minor bugs

Postby Muhandes » Fri Jan 08, 2010 1:13 am

I'm pretty sure this is not intended.

Summoning cone is level 15, I suppose since the XP boost from Yith is overpowered at low levels. However, sidekicks are not removed on transmog, so you could theoretically get one before transmog, then keep it for level 1. I suppose it will get you to level 5 or so almost instantly.

Haven't tested it myself since I was level 12 when I re-transmoged, but I checked and other sidekicks are not removed.


Return to “Testing & Debugging”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests