change to gadgeteer "upgrade X" skill use

Talk about the game. What game? The game with the power? What power? The power of ... aw, skip it.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Ryme
Site Admin
Posts: 4288
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:04 pm
Contact:

change to gadgeteer "upgrade X" skill use

Postby Ryme » Sun Jul 05, 2009 7:54 pm

It's been frequently requested, so I've changed the way using the gadgeteer Upgrade Armor and Upgrade Weapons skills work. If you already have one of the mutually exclusive skills running, further casts of the skill will just increment the current skill, rather than prompting you to confirm/choose.

This relies on you to know what effect you have running, and assumes you'll want more of the same.

If you have one of the low-level effects on (before Improved Tinkering) and then acquire that skill, it will continue to extend the low-level effect with additional recasts. You'll have to shake off or let the old one expire before you'll be prompted with the Improved Tinkering options.

I fear that this may be a no-win situation, and I fully expect to get complaints from players saying they previously used the confirmation step as reminder if they had one of the other options running, and now they will waste PP extending the wrong skill before catching on, shaking the old one off, and using a new option. Guess I figure if both methods may end up being unpopular, at least this one requires fewer clicks.

Harry Dresden
Posts: 1394
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:22 pm
Contact:

Re: change to gadgeteer "upgrade X" skill use

Postby Harry Dresden » Sun Jul 05, 2009 8:00 pm

I for one am very happy with this change. I'm a Gadgeteer every other day, so it will save me a little time not to have to keep clicking the radial button for Absorption or whatever each time I have the PP. Bravo, Ryme!

User avatar
Cristiona
Posts: 4789
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 1:01 am
Location: the Conservatory with the lead pipe
Contact:

Re: change to gadgeteer "upgrade X" skill use

Postby Cristiona » Sun Jul 05, 2009 8:01 pm

Hm. I'll have to pay attention now. That verification boxed saved me from wasting PP on numerous occasions. Still, this is a good change.
Image
The churches are empty / The priest has gone home / And we are left standing / Together alone
--October Project: "Dark Time"

Muhandes
Posts: 732
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: change to gadgeteer "upgrade X" skill use

Postby Muhandes » Mon Jul 06, 2009 5:58 am

I like this change. I always use the same two upgrades anyway, it saves me several clicks.

User avatar
Olaf
Posts: 817
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 8:29 pm
Location: The Wild West
Contact:

Re: change to gadgeteer "upgrade X" skill use

Postby Olaf » Mon Jul 06, 2009 10:54 am

If this ever does become a problem, a compromise could be having the radio button already selected, which is what bugged me about the old way.
Before was 3 clicks, but had verification.
Now is 1 click, but no verification.
Preselected radio button would be 2 clicks with verification.
<==
Well, I've got a hat!


Return to “Gameplay & Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests